The Point Fortin Borough Council is governed by Act #21 of the Laws of Trinidad and Tobago. The Council business is executed via a committee system. The Act provides for four standing committees. They are

  • Physical Infrastructure
  • Personnel Committee
  • Public Health Committee
  • Finance, Planning and Allocation of Resources

The Point Fortin Borough Council has created eight additional committees to assist in delivering its mandate to the burgesses of Point Fortin. They are

  • Culture and Celebrations
  • Education & School Community Alliance
  • Spatial Planning & Building Inspection
  • Community and Local Economic Development
  • Security & Policing
  • Disaster Management, Occupational Health and Safety
  • Youth Development, Sports, Recreation Ground & Public Spaces
  • Social and Corporate Services